Editing Underway

I’ve been making some good progress on the editing this week.  I’m up to chapter seven now.  Only a dozen or so left to go.  I found that when I was reviewing one of the fighting scenes that I had been reading instead of editing.  I guess that’s a good thing.  I’m hoping it means that the action was compelling enough that it sucked me in and made me forget what I was supposed to be doing.  Or it’s writer’s hubris, with me wanting to see just how awesome my own characters are.  Either way, I had to go back and re-edit it.  I think it worked out.  It made me feel like maybe I knew what I was doing.  That feeling was short lived, since the next chapter was a travesty, drowning in melodrama.  Ugh.  Well, that’s what editing’s for, I suppose.

In other news, I think that updating this site weekly will be the way to go.  I think that the cadence will give me the focus I need, but also give me time to gather my thoughts and actually make progress.  My target update day will be Sunday, but if something interesting happens during the week, I reserve the right to update more frequently.

I also got a book on how to build an author platform.  This site is part of my effort to do just that.  We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

