Slowly Coming Back

Happy 2012! I can’t believe it’s been a year since my last post. I fully intended to come back and write here, just as I fully intended to work more on my story. Unfortunately I didn’t end up returning to this blog, just as I was able to make little progress on my story.

I wouldn’t say I made no progress, however. I’ve had a lot of time to brainstorm book two, and I think I’ve made some good strides in imagining certain plot points and scenes for that book. I think about it all the time, even if I don’t actually get to write or revise.

I have had time to read, and I’ve read a lot. I think I’ve learned many things that I can apply to my revisions of book one, so hopefully the work will be stronger for my hiatus. Hope springs eternal.

This year I intend to get some of my life back from the forces that ripped it away from me last year – my mother’s illness, a gigantic project at work and the resulting overtime demands, and sleep-deprivation. My son is now sleeping through the night and sometimes even goes to sleep early. My mother’s situation is slowly resolving itself. The project at work is winding down to manageable levels.

That means I intend for 2012 to be the year I get my writing back on track. I think that book one is really close to being ready…now I just have to decide if I want to try to go the self-publish route or the traditional agent/publisher route. Any feedback or opinions would be appreciated. I’m going to give myself the time and space needed to make the work better and to make the right decisions.

Here’s to a better year.

Leave a Reply

